American Sueno

“One sun rose on us today…And always one moon like a silent drum tapping on every rooftop and every window, of one country – all of us -facing the stars hope” -Richard Blanco (“One Today”)

Sunrise

Hola! Hello! Whichever you prefer works for me. So let me just get straight to the point. I’m an American born Latina (ay caray) with parents who descent from El Salvador and Honduras. As if I do not have enough roles to play, I recently picked up activism. I am a mother, student, employee, cook, and superwoman now. I have made a decision to begin advocating for the undocumented population in America.

Let me just start off by saying that I have never considered being an activist. Although there has been many times where I flip on the TV and hear the media speak a lot of junk about current issues, I was only an activist in my head. I created images in my head of just kicking ass and saving the world my way! With no mountains to move and live in a place where we all are considered equal.

immigrants

As the daughter of an El Salvadorian, who chased the American Dream and entered as an “illegal” immigrant (who is now an American Citizen… Go Reagan!), I grew up witnessing firsthand the discrimination that this population faces. I saw my mom being limited to her opportunities of growth, and working long hours with no raises and no benefits. Now, that I am older and understand all the hardship she faced, I would like to be able to focus more on the issues undocumented individuals face in this country…. “The Land of Opportunity”. (So they say).

I will begin first with attending the Immigration Reform march being held in Washington, D.C. in April and only hope to progress from there. This will be my first march and I’m excited to see what it has in stored for me. Am I going to witness all the crazy aspects viewed through the media? I guess we will just have to wait and see! Until next time Adios amigos!
full-moon-worm-moon-008

Leave a Reply

