It Matters

digproject765

When I was younger, I remember looking through old photo albums one day at my parents’ home. One of the pictures I came across was of a group of young women standing together in Washington DC, holding pro-choice signs. One of the women in the picture was my mom, and I thought that was the coolest thing I had ever seen.

My mom was and still is a strong advocate of the right to choose, which has been hugely inspirational and a significant reason why feminist issues became so important. She has always told me to stand up for what I believe in and that nothing is too insignificant to fight for,  that the impact I make doesn’t necessarily have to be seen by everyone in order to make a difference.These are lessons that I hold close to my heart, and are sort of, in a way, how I define my relationship with activism. I have learned from her the importance of standing behind what I believe is important, always.

Leave a Reply

