Semblance

Growing up as a quiet, observant kid in the suburbs of Columbia, MD I always felt like I was not entirely as well established as other children my age. I felt that I was not always able to relate to other children’s stories about Christmas, vacations, family dinners, or birthdays. I felt like my Latino family did not share the same narratives as the children in my neighborhood. So as a kid I grew thinking that somehow my family was too different or not similar enough. My venture into activism began as an exploration of community, or semblance. Throughout my childhood in public school I was very quiet and often I would not participate in class. I felt as though I could not properly communicate. My entrance to activism was a way to find my voice after a long period of hibernation and unrest–a call to disrupt the compliance.
My activism began my sophomore year at UMBC. I joined a student organization called QUMBC (Queers United Mobilized & Bringing Change) in hopes that I would find a community of strong dedicated individuals and become more involved around school. I did not think that I would become as involved as I thought I would be. Through QUMBC I’ve been able to go to conferences, book speakers, help plan a regional conference, and expand my design capabilities. Additionally, I gained leadership skills and developed my public speaking skills. My work with QUMBC led me to become an officer in two other student organizations and has given me a network and knowledge of student affairs and the office of student life. It has also taught me to deal with the bureaucracy of the Student Government Association and several Finance Board meetings. I am continually working to expand and assemble my form of activism.

Image

Leave a Reply

