Why You Are Amazing

My activist project for Spring 2013 was to apart of a larger project (The Vagina Monologues), after spending sometime watching the monologues on line I realized that  a lot of them were centered around this idea of self awareness, confidence, and acceptance. With this in mind I started to think about how many woman actually thought of themselves as being amazing and what there reasons were. I did some online research and come across a few articles and blogs that talked about how woman didn’t think they were smart, funny, beautiful, essentially didn’t believe in themselves. I was shocked and saddened by this mostly because I have a lot of female friends and I never tell them that i appreciate how amazing they are even though I think they are all amazing in there own respect. So I decided to approach some women and ask them “why are you amazing?” just to get a conversation started, it was shocking at how many of them couldnt not come up with an answer even though I knew them personally and I could list of many reasons why they were amazing. This turned into me carrying around a dry erase board and asking them to write it down and take there pictures to create a short film using the pictures. One of the main issues I had with this project was having the courage to walk to strangers and ask them these question, another problem was that I didnt give myself enough time to gather the pictures. I originally thought this was going to take about a week, but after talking to some of the girls for more than 10 minutes about themselves I realized this kind of project is actaully very time consuming. I would like to turn this type of video into different projects asking different question to different groups of people (lgbt, people of color, mothers etc).

Here is a link to my video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjFYfzoqhuI&feature=youtu.be

Leave a Reply

