Not an Activist…. Yet

           Before this class started, I never considered myself as an activist. By reading Grassroots at the beginning of this semester, I’ve learned to look at the word ‘activism’ differently. To me, activism is being able to recognize opportunities for change in our lives. Also, being an activist is being able to make things better for everyone in society. Though I may not consider myself an activist just yet, I am learning to take action in my own life.
            One thing that I am very passionate about is marriage equality for everyone. My younger sister considers herself part of the LBGTQ community and I am extremely protective of her. I want her to be able to be herself and not have to hide who she is just because society may not accept it. The only activism that I have participated in is through the means of social media, using Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. My sister has a tumblr and frequently blogs about her thoughts and beliefs, whether it’s about marriage equality for her and others, or about her favorite tv show.

            I consider my sister an activist. She has always stood up for her beliefs and has learned to take criticism from others if they don’t agree with her ideas. I want to be able to learn from her, and to be able to make a difference in not only her life, but maybe in somebody else’s. Social media is a great way to share ideas and activism with others. I think that starting a tumblr for me is a great idea, because people from all around the world will be able to see the activism in my life and see some of the things that I believe in. As a “beginner” activist, social media would be a good place for me to start and through that, I can build up my way to hopefully incorporating activism into my daily life, outside of my computer.

Leave a Reply

