Image

“No fracking way! Not in our Bay! Hey Dominion, get the frack out of Maryland!”

            The energy was electric. The excitement and adrenaline seemed to radiate off of the crowd and bounce off of the sides of the tall, glassy buildings in that particular area of Baltimore. With each speaker, the excitement seemed to elevate a little bit more. People would cheer and boo in all the appropriate moments during the speakers and wave their signs around whenever they could. To me, there is nothing better than being in a huge group of people that are all there for the same purpose and are all passionate about the same things. I thought to myself, “So this is what collective activism is all about”. The most exciting part was when we started the march around a few blocks as a demonstration. This is when the adrenaline and emotional high really started to kick in. Suddenly, I was reminded of why we were there. We were there because of the potential of environmental injustice that might happen. We were there to fight against the reign of Dominion, and to tell Governor Martin O’Malley to put the “people before profit”. We were (are) fighting for our children, our nieces, nephews, future grandchildren, cousins, and the next generations of our country. At this point, fossil fuels will just not cut it anymore. We must find sustainable and cheap ways to produce fuel that will be economical and safe for our future. Fracking is not the answer. We were there to stop Cove Point.

I believe that I have been developing as an activist my entire life. I feel as though I am discovering what it really means to be an activist, and that development has brought me to this point when I am ready to start taking more action for what I think is right. As a young girl, my mom raised me to be an empowered individual that is confident in herself, and has a clear understanding of what is right and what is wrong. Both of my parents have taught me that I can do anything in the world if I work hard enough. Nothing is impossible. Since these ideas were placed into my head at a young age and were repeated as I got older, they became an important part as my development as an activist.

            When I was younger, my activism continued to develop as I got more involved with church projects. These projects have included collecting supplies and making care packages for our local Red Cross chapter to give to house fire victims and for Hurricane Katrina victims. I have also helped out with church auctions that raised money for scholarship funds, Habitat for Humanity, and other charities. I have also been active in some environmental activism during my senior year of high school. I helped organize an “Environmental Awareness Week” to help people realize how much they actually have an impact on the environment even if they don’t know it. Although these are really active things that I have done to help people in my community, I also do things on a daily basis that could be considered activism. For example, in high school, when people would use the word “fag” as a negative term to call someone, I would try my best to point out the hurt that word could possibly cause someone. I also do my best to remind people that making sexist jokes or jokes about sexual violence is NOT funny.        

I feel that I am on the verge of becoming a fully-developed activist. With this class, I am learning what being an activist really means and how I can incorporate activism into my daily life. I can’t help but feel a thirst for being more involved with things like environmental activism and feminist activism. I feel like a budding activist that wants to become more engaged in ways she can make a difference. 

Leave a Reply

