Get DOWN’s with it.

IMG_5030I have never seen myself as an activist. To be honest, I have never even thought about activism or how it pertains to me before this semester.  I would definitely say that within the last 8 months of my life, that has changed. My youngest brother, William, is only 9 months old and has been diagnosed with Down’s Syndrome. Although my brother is still only an infant, I feel very passionate about not only helping people that have special needs but making sure that they receive every tool in order to succeed in life. It is my goal to become apart of an organization that advocates for children with special needs and specifically children that have Down’s Syndrome. Through this class, I have started my process with working with Best Buddies, a special needs organization, but I still want to do something more. I have invested some of my time into researching different programs and organizations that are all about advocating for special needs, whether it is for adults and helping them to get and keep a job or for children and making sure he/she receives the necessary tools for everyday life. There is an organization called F.R.I.E.N.D.S (Family Resource, Information, and Education Network for Down’s Syndrome), which I am trying to get involved in. F.R.I.E.N.D.S helps out families, they advocate for children that are in the public school system to make sure they are getting the right tools to succeed, they raise awareness throughout communities, etc. So to answer the question, at first I thought activism was just not something I was doing or wanted to do but it is now such a huge part of my life. I want to know that I have helped people that are going through the same things my brother is and will go through so it is not only extremely important to bring awareness about these issues that children and adults with Down’s Syndrome go through but it is an issue that is very close to my heart.

Leave a Reply

