I can take the blue out of me, but never the activism.

I am an activist, of a sort. My activism is rarely for the greater good of the world but instead for the greater good of a certain set of people. I am an activist for rights for trans* people of all gender identities and skin colors and class. I am an activist for those people who have to deal with cissexism on a daily basis, who are afraid to correct well-meaning people on pronouns and words, who are afraid of what some consider simple words, but to us, they are swords and knives and arrows and maces. We are afraid of living our lives because someone may decided they would rather we didn’t, and remove us from it. I am rarely an activist for cis people because they already get activists and generally some of the best. I am an activist for equal rights, for removing discrimination, for getting rid of the ability for people to not hire us or not give us shelter simply because we do not fit their binary, or do but in a way that makes them uncomfortable. I am here to help trans* people live safer lives and to have representation in the media, not just for the straight trans* people, but for ALL trans* people.

 

My activist story starts in April of 2012, when at the age of 21, I finally came out as transgender. I had had feelings for years, but I didn’t have concrete knowledge until that month, and a weekend during it to be precise. I came out, and when I came out, it came with something I did not expect; a caring about people. This is not to say that I am callous or didn’t care about others. But, before coming out, I did not much care of those who I didn’t know. But, when I came out, and months later, I cared about the rights and lives of trans women all over the world, and transgender men as well, but to a very slightly lesser degree (one looks out for those extremely like them ahead of those who are mostly like them). I became a small ways activist, I helped others to know what was going on, and I tried to make sure that I advocated for better rights and lives for transgender people. A year and a half after starting hormones, and I am far more invested in the betterment of the lives of transgender people. And, the abolishment of things which were put in place against us, such as what Janice Raymond has done with her book and her beliefs and those who agree with her.

Being transgender means that you are faced with more problems than you were before, and they are problems that can stretch across racial boundaries. They are ones such as survival, bathroom use, and healthcare. Being trans means that you could be killed for being yourself, you might not be able to use the bathroom which applies to your gender and not your sex, and that getting healthcare can be even harder than it was before. Trans people of color still have it more difficult in many ways, but all trans people are brothers and sisters and siblings in that they share a difference of what they were assigned at birth.

So, my story is simple and basic: I am a trans woman and thus I will always advocate for the rights and basic allowance to live for trans people.

Leave a Reply

