Vagina Monologues, Let’s Talk!

 

IMG_3083

I am so happy I took this class. I came in thinking this would be a simple class, and ended up being a part of so much more. I was able to participate in the Vagina Monologues! Being in the Vagina Monologues was such an amazing experience. The production was awesome, and it has been a long time since I have performed on a stage. The Vagina Monologues was an accomplishment not only because I completed it for my class, but because I was able to contribute to a bigger cause. The show was sold out and our charity received a lot from it. We also had a donation box that made giving to them even more of a success. We also had quilts for a big project that is happening in the national mall. The quilts will be representing women who have been raped as well as other gender targeted harassment or abuse.

 

 

I think that this is important because the more we do things like this, the more people will recognize the many things that happen to women and the experiences they go through. This was really important to me because I never considered myself as an activist. In doing this, I was able to get a serious message across to the audience. In doing “my vagina was my village”, I was able to grasp the attention of the audience and really make sure they got the message. When the show was over, I received so much great feedback. Even though many of the monologues were funny, it was time to discuss an issue that was a little more serious. I’m glad I was able to educate some on the issues that have occurred, as well as making them think of the victims that could be going through it right now.

IMG_3075
The only thing that didn’t work for me is the amount of information that was on our pamphlet. I feel like we could have given more information on the things going on in the world today. As well as why we are doing this in the first place. I feel like we could have also given them information on how to be more active in helping women who are going through gender based violence. That way they could be like me. A person who found a way to be an activist, and not assuming it’s only activism when you are protesting in the street. There are so many ways to be an activist! We could have had everyone in the audience hashtagging their favorite part of the show, and maybe talking about what they got from the piece. I just want there to be more audience involvement next time!
This project has totally made me rethink my ideas on activism. Even outside of this class, I have been encouraged to do more. With everything that has happened with Freddie gray, I was able to go out and be with the people in my city. We rode through the city and stopped traffic, making sure that our presence was known. Throughout this semester I learned that I have so much potential. I learned that I can also be on my own level as an activist. I don’t have to riot, protest, or march every day to be an activist. The cause that I support doesn’t have to be huge either. We had such a variety in the projects this year, things I would never think about. The more general thing that I have learned about activism is it doesn’t take a lot to make a difference. People always say that they are only one person, but don’t realize the impact that they can make in ones life. If it wasn’t for the author of the Vagina Monologues, we wouldn’t have those stories to share. And if it wasn’t for the person that started WILL, we wouldn’t be doing this production at UMBC. It always starts with somebody.
I would like to thank all the ladies that helped to make the Vagina Monologues a success! I would like to thank everyone who came out and showed support. Looking forward to next year. I hope whoever is reading this will be inspired to participate, or come see the show. Thanks for reading!

IMG_3077

Leave a Reply

