Social Welfare Access for Students

The problems addressed in this project were the inaccessibility of the social welfare system and how to help students find the resources they may need. The social welfare system can be complex to navigate. Difficulties in finding resources could result in a lack of access to needed services. The main goal of the project was to raise awareness of the difficulties of the welfare system and centralize available resources. I chose to go with a flyer that features information about the social welfare system and resources available for students.

I started the project with a broad view of the inaccessibility of the social welfare system. The research was focused on who was most in need in the state of MD, deciding on the best way to raise awareness, and finally choosing a focal point. In my research, I found that there was a lot of information to cover, even after scaling down for the state. I decided to direct my focus to students. I found that there were differences in eligibility for students to receive housing and food assistance. Students may not be aware of what they qualify for through the social welfare system or resources available directly through UMBC. At the suggestion of Dr. Kate, I included a QR code on the flyer that links to a google document that gives more details about the resources available.

Leave a comment